1. 2.3.

Ann Arbor Spark

September 16, 2020

FastTrack Awards: Frequently Asked Questions

Who can receive a FastTrack Award?
FastTrack Awards are presented to “gazelle” companies headquartered in Washtenaw or Livingston county. “Gazelles” are defined as high-growth companies with 20 percent increased average revenue for three years, starting from a revenue base of at least $100,000. As gazelle companies are characterized by their rapid growth, rather than their absolute size, they can range in size from small companies to large enterprises.

How do you apply?
There is a short application to fill out, which asks for basic company information and proof of growth. The application has closed for 2020, and will open for the next cycle in Spring of 2021.

When is the deadline?
TBD – likely end of July 2021.

What is required to win?
In order to qualify for the 2020 awards, a company must have had at least $100,000 gross revenue in 2016, with an average growth of at least 20 percent for the following three years. Revenue in 2017 must be greater than 2016. The application will ask for three separate years of revenue figures. These can be in the form of federal tax forms (the first page of the annual return) or financial statements issued by independent accountants or financial advisors.

Example equation:

  • 2016 (base year): $100,000 
  • 2017: $122,000 (22% growth)
  • 2018: $156,160 (28% growth)
  • 2019: $179,584 (15% growth)

If a company meets these criteria, they will win a FastTrack Award!

Who reviews the applications?
The 2020 FastTrack Awards were sponsored by Rehmann. Representatives from Rehmann reviewed the applications and determined if the companies met the criteria. All financial information is kept confidential and Ann Arbor SPARK never views application materials except for the final winners and percentages (if given permission).

Is there a FastTrack Awards Ceremony?
In 2020, the FastTrack Awards were part of a2tech360. The award ceremony occurred virtually on September 18, 2020.

Further questions? Contact: 

Alex West
Director of Research
Ann Arbor SPARK

Presenting Sponsor: